This past Tuesday, more than 50 percent of Key Colony Beach’s registered voters cast ballots for the three open seats on the KCB City Commission. Incumbent mayor and two term commissioner Ron Sutton secured the most votes with 357, followed by Mary Schimdt (277) and Jeff Vorick (226), a three term commissioner who narrowly edged out fellow commissioner Lester “Rusty” Stevens (216) to secure the third open seat.

The recently elected officials will join Tucker DeGraw and Geraldine Zahn when they are sworn in on April 1, 2009 at which time the commission will select a mayor, vice mayor, secretary and treasurer from their ranks.

Leave a Reply