a group of women smiling for the camera

The Community Foundation of the Florida Keys announced significant changes to its board of governors, marking a milestone in its 27-year history. Laura Lietaert, principal of Coral Shores High School, on July 1 became the organization’s first board chair from north of the Seven Mile Bridge. Additionally, business owners Robyn Still of Marathon and Isis Wright of Key Largo have been elected to three-year terms on the board.

“Laura Lietaert has an in-depth understanding of the needs of our residents, having graduated from Coral Shores, raised her own family here and worked for the school system for three decades,” said Community Foundation board president and CEO Jennifer McComb. “With the addition of Robyn Still and Isis Wright, our board now better represents the geographic diversity of the Keys. This aligns perfectly with our strategic goal of becoming a truly countywide organization.” 

“I’m honored to lead the Community Foundation into its next phase of growth,” said Lietaert, a Key Largo resident. “Our goal is to continue expanding our impact across all of the Florida Keys, addressing the unique needs of each community.”

The board is responsible for the organization’s efforts countywide, including managing 226 charitable funds totaling over $30 million and making grants exceeding $1.5 million annually to support Florida Keys nonprofits. 

Lietaert was named Monroe County School District “Principal of the Year” in 2023 after receiving the same award at Key Largo School in 2018. She chairs Monroe County’s Human Services Advisory Board, which annually grants over $2 million to local nonprofits. She served two terms as president of the Rotary Club of Key Largo and is active in the Upper Keys Business and Professional Women, Key Largo Chamber of Commerce and the Islamorada Chamber of Commerce. Lietaert was the Community Foundation’s first board member from Key Largo when she joined in 2020 and served as chair of the foundation’s Upper Keys Advisory Council for two years.

Still serves on the Community Foundation’s Middle Keys Advisory Council. She and her husband, Chris, own the Tackle Box, a bait and tackle store in Marathon. Currently the mayor of Marathon, Still has lived in the Keys since 2016, moving from north Georgia after a 20-year career in law enforcement. She holds several community leadership positions, including past chair of the Greater Marathon Chamber of Commerce, board member of the Rotary Club of Marathon, advisory board member for the Domestic Abuse Shelter and member of Zonta. She is a graduate of Leadership Monroe County and a mentor for Take Stock in Children.

Wright has been an inaugural member of the Community Foundation’s Upper Keys Advisory Council since 2021, serving as council chair since 2022. With over 20 years of professional experience in business development and marketing, Wright recently launched two Keys-based brands: B. Ready, a travel and leisure wellness online marketplace, and Italian Food Company, an authentic Neapolitan pizzeria. She is a board member of the Islamorada Chamber of Commerce and has served with the Rotary Club of Key Largo, Rotary Interact and Junior Achievement. Wright holds an MBA from the University of Miami and is a graduate of Leadership Miami.

Other Community Foundation board members are Andrea Spottswood (treasurer and finance chair), Jodi Weinhofer (secretary), Marian Buccafurni (investment and grants chair), Bobby Highsmith (governance chair), Warren Leamard (development chair), Larry Nolt and Ken Silverman. Will Langley and Ron Burd will transition to advisory roles after completing their nine-year terms of service.