Monroe County Schools Superintendent Theresa Axford has named three new principals for the 2023-2024 school year — in addition to the new principals already announced for Key West and Marathon high schools.

Trevor Tyler will take the helm of Sugarloaf School. Melissa Alsobrooks will lead Gerald Adams Elementary and Linda Diaz will be principal of Stanley Switlik Elementary.

All three have extensive experience with the district and are looking forward to their new positions.

“Trevor Tyler is a true believer that every child can be successful and an advocate for teachers and staff,” Axford said. He is currently an assistant principal at Marathon High School and will take over for retiring Principal Brett Unke at Sugarloaf for the upcoming school year.  

Melissa Alsobrooks brings an extensive educational background to her role as principal of Gerald Adams Elementary. She is the current director of accountability and assessment and will move into the new position upon the retirement of Principal Fran Herrin. Before serving in her current role, she spent time as an assistant principal of Key West High School. 

Linda Diaz is filling the principal role at Stanley Switlik Elementary that has been vacated by Christine Paul, who will take over as principal at Marathon High School. Diaz moved to the Keys in 1988 and immediately connected with Monroe County School District as a substitute teacher while completing her degree in elementary education. During her 35-year career, she has held several key roles including teacher, assistant principal and currently is an Exceptional Student Education transition specialist who works with teachers, parents and students.