The Key West Chamber of Commerce installed its 2021 leaders and honored local teachers at a Jan. 19 luncheon at the Marriott Beachside Hotel.

Father John Baker of the Basilica of St. Mary Star of the Sea administered the oath of office to the incoming board of directors, officers and 2021 president Suzanne Moore. 

After accepting the presidential gavel from her predecessor Greg Sullivan, Moore spoke about the chamber’s evolution and growth, and how past leaders worked “to make this island one of the top destinations in the world,” but she also acknowledged that “cracks start to appear,” with the “huge growth in airlines, AirBnB, VRBO, hotels, more, more, more.”  

“Some start to have different opinions, and are asking if more is better,” she said. “Our demographics show we are now a playground to older, affluent tourists who are looking for historical and cultural tourism, and we have to adapt.”

Moore pledged to set the table and invite everyone to have a seat at it.

“I have already met with Mayor Teri Johnston to open the doors of communication,” she said. “I have met with Paul Menta and Mark Gambuzza of Key West Mom and Pop, which represents 260 small businesses. I believe I can invite everyone to have a seat at the table so we can listen to each other in order to achieve a balance of a healthy economy and a vibrant, safe community.”

“I want to be your president,” she said. “I want to create a new table, where all parties have a seat and all parties have a say.”

The 2021 Key West Chamber of Commerce board of directors: Joyce Benavides, Annie Briening, Joe Caso, David Clay, Travis Doll, George Fernandez, Sam Holland, Darren Horan, Melissa Kendrick, Britt Myers, Mark Rossi, Brittany Snyder, Billy Spottswood, Greg Sullivan, Lynne Tejeda and John Toppino.

The 2021 Key West Chamber of Commerce board pledged to uphold the organization’s mission.
Newly installed officers of the 2021 Key West Chamber of Commerce, from left, are Patricia Neyra, Karen Sharp, Diane Schmidt and Bill Lay.
The chamber’s education committee honors local teachers for their role in shaping the island’s youngest residents and future leaders. Teachers, from left, are Ed Smith, Dianne Russell, Tammy Orcutt, Christine Drewel and Kimberly Dawn Albury. Honored teachers who weren’t in attendance include Hillary Seeland and Elizabeth ‘Betsy’ Ford.
The Key West Chamber welcomed several new members at its Jan. 19 installation luncheon. Pictured are Emily Lynton Smith of the Peaceable Parent, Jay Berelowitz of Palm Vista Health & Rehab, Annie Briening of Overseas Media Group and Casey Arnold of Southernmost Scavenger Hunts.
Father John Baker administers the oath of office to incoming president Suzanne Moore.
Key West Chamber of Commerce president Suzanne Moore accepts the gavel from 2020 president Greg Sullivan.

Join Our Blast – Keys News Right to Your INBOX